Section V Basketball Hall of Fame
Sponsored by:
Lattimore Physical Therapy (2016)

Section V Basketball: Hall of Fame Class of 2016

The class features 18 people who have earned distinction through playing, coaching, officiating and leadership during the past 95 years of scholastic competition in Section V Basketball.

Ron Ceravolo: Coach - Newark Central
Melvin Council: Player - Rochester-Wilson Magnet
Suzi Egeli: Player - Elba Central
Erin Farney: Player - South Seneca
Glenn Harkins: Administrator - Section V Committee
Corrine Keller: Player - Greece Athena
Nick Kelley: Player - Genesee Valley
Carlo Lorenzetti: Official - CWBG Officials
Paul Mueller: Coach - Pittsford Central
Gary Oehlbeck: Coach - Gates-Chili Central
Pete Piraino: Coach - Keshequa Central
Mike Rapone: Coach - Batavia - Notre Dame
Frank Reddoutt: Player - Naples Central
Tyler Relph: Player - McQuaid Jesuit
Jeanne Stewart: Coach - Bloomfield Central
John Valenti: Player - Rochester - West High
Phil Valenti: Player - Pittsford Sutherland
Frank Williams: Media - WDNY/Genesee Media
Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Photo by:

Class of 2016:

Ron Ceravolo Newark High School Coach
Ron Ceravolo: Coached Newark Central boys for 23 years amassing a record of 409 – 117.His teams captured 15 Finger Lakes East titles and 4 Sectional Championships. Named BCANY Coach of the Year in 2008.
Return to Class List

Melvin Council Rochester Wilson-Magnet HSPlayer
Melvin Council: Section V Championship MVP in 200 while leading Wilson Magnet to Section V Championship. Named NAIA All-American at Robert Morris. Played for Rochester Razorsharks.
Return to Class List

Suzi Egeli Elba High SchoolPlayer
Suzi Egeli: Scored 1533 points for Elba Central and named to AGR Team in 1992 and 1993. Played at Division 1 University of Delaware.
Return to Class List

Erin FarneySouth Seneca Central High SchoolPlayer
Erin Farney: Led South Seneca to 5 consecutive Section V Class C Championships 1999-2003 and the 2003 NYSPHSAA Championship. Earned NAIA All American honors at Roberts Wesleyan.
Return to Class List

Glenn Harkins
Section V Basketball CommitteeAdministrator
Glenn Harkins: Director of Media Relations for Section V Basketball from 1996-2007. Published Section V Handbook and Tournament Programs. In 2005 was recognized with the NS Coaches Special Honor Award.
Return to Class List

Corrine KellerGreece Athena High SchoolPlayer
Corrine Keller: 5-time Section V All-Tournament Team (20001-2005). Led Athena to Section V Championships in 2003 & 2005.
Return to Class List

Nick KelleyGenesee Valley Central High SchoolPlayer
Nick Kelley – Second player in Section V history to be named to All-Tournament Team 4 consecutive years (2000-2003). Led Genesee Valley to three Section V Class D Championships. Holds Section V record for career 3-point field goals made with 274.
Return to Class List

Carlo LorenzettiCWGBOOfficial
Carlo Lorenzetti: Refereed Section V Basketball for 43 years. Named CWGBO “Official of the Year” in 2003. Served two terms as New York State Rules Interpreter.
Return to Class List

Paul MuellerPittsford-Sutherland High SchoolCoach
Paul Mueller: Coached Pittsford Sutherland boys for 29 years, compiling a record of 376 – 228. Won 4 Sectional titles. Section V Class B Coach of the Year in 1993 & 1995.
Return to Class List

Gary OehlbeckGates-Chili High SchoolCoach
Gary Oehlbeck: Coached Gates-Chili Central boys for 24 years capturing the 2002 Class AA Championship. Three-time Section V Coach of the Year 1985,1986, 1990.
Return to Class List

Pete PirainoKeshequa Central High SchoolCoach
Pete Piraino: Keshequa Central girls coach for 37 years recording a record of 485 – 283. A 5 -time Section V Coach of the year, led Keshequa to 6 Section V titles.
Return to Class List

Michael RaponeNotre Dame-Batavia High SchoolCoach
Mike Rapone: Coach Rapone ranks number one all-time in Section V history with 649 wins at Notre Dame – Batavia. Led NDB to 9 Sectional titles and 2 NYSPHSAA Championships.
Return to Class List

Fred Redoutt Naples Central High SchoolPlayer
Frank Redoutt: Led Naples Central to its first ever Section V title in 1949. Later played for Syracuse University and the Rochester Royals. Also refereed many years in Section V.
Return to Class List

Tyler RelphMcQuaid Jesuit High SchoolPlayer
Tyler Relph: 2003 NYS Mr. Basketball piloted McQuaid Jesuit to the 2003 NYSPHSAA Championship. Two-time AGR Player of the Year (2002 & 2003).
Return to Class List

Jeanne StewartBloomfield High SchoolCoach
Jeanne Stewart: A pioneer in the implementation of Title IX guidelines in Section V. Guided Bloomfield girls to Section V titles in 1976 and 1977.
Return to Class List

John Valenti Rochester West High SchoolPlayer
John Valenti: The leading scorer at West High in the late 60’s. Earned All-Region honors at MCC. Founded Valenti Sports.
Return to Class List

Phil Valenti Pittsford-Sutherland High SchoolPlayer
Phil Valenti: Two -time Monroe County Player of the Year (2000 & 2001) from Pittsford Sutherland. 1000+ point scorer. Played collegiately at MCC and Hamilton College.
Return to Class List

Frank Williams WDNY/Genesee MediaMedia
Frank Williams: Play-by-play announcer for multiple radio stations throughout Livingston County and the Southern Tier since 1978. Also serves as a sportswriter for the Livingston County News.
Return to Class List

Click here for the Nomination Form.

Click here to return to the top of the page.
Click here to return to Section V Boys' Basketball.

This page was created by Philip K. Abel. Email me for information at